Tags

, , , ,

~ by Katy Whipple, BQB Production Manager

As I set out to write this blog, I was overwhelmed with the choices of topics. That, of course, led to writer’s block. For the life of me, I could not figure out what I wanted to write about. It had to be something original with no clichés. Something sharp without being biting. Something relatable without being too familiar. Frankly, I obsessed about it for over a week.

As I took my dogs, Dexter and Ronin, for a hike in the woods the other day (a common place for me to have A-HA! moments), I realized that I had already found what I should write about: the issue of not knowing what to write about. When there are so many things in the world that need to be addressed, recognized, and contemplated, how does a person pick just one? Sure, we can find a way to merge a few topics together, but that’s not always satisfactory.

I don’t have the answer to this conundrum. It’s been a conundrum for a long time, and I haven’t heard of anyone coming up with a surefire way around writer’s block. Some people suggest getting out of the writing space for a while and doing something completely different: go for a walk, play with the dogs, do some gardening, practice yoga, take a road trip. Others recommend powering through it: just keep writing, even if you throw away the first fifty pages of drivel. I don’t think it’s as cut and dry as these two options. Both might work for one person at different times and with different pieces. Then again, maybe neither option ever works. Maybe we find that we just have to wait it out. Maybe we just have to let the blockade, whatever the source, work its way out of our system so that the words can flow freely again.

For me, it’s definitely a mish-mash of these things. In this blog’s case, it was doing something completely different that worked for me. Tomorrow, it might be powering through it. On Wednesday, it might be that I can’t get anything down on paper for a week or so. I’m okay with that. I know that, in the end, these words and thoughts can’t keep themselves locked up forever. Sooner or later, they’re going to have to make an appearance. I just hope I’m next to a computer or have a pen and paper near me when they do. Because it’s gonna be a flood.

