Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I spent the afternoon in the garden tending to what would grow
When along came a curious hand belonging to my beau

“Whatcha growing in this plot? It’s looking pretty full
With all these weeds taking over, I better help you pull.”

And just like that he grabbed a handful and uprooted from the ground.
He turned to me with pride but was surprised to see my frown.

“My love, that’s not a weed, that was carefully planted dill!
Please don’t pull without asking, thanks anyways for the goodwill.”

“Pardon me, I’m so sorry,” he said, as he coolly set the herb back down.
“I’ll head back in, but before I go, I just see a few more weeds around.”

I tried to be patient and hoped to avoid any dispute,
so I ignored the sad plant on the ground he didn’t mean to uproot.

Admiring my tomatoes, when out of the corner of my eye,
I saw the man grab another dill plant and lift it to the sky.

“Pah-leeze stop pulling, my dear, I know you’re trying to be nice,
but I prefer to weed myself, and my delicate herbs you’ve yanked twice!

It’s hard enough fending off pests and bugs munching on my crop
and just like them, you’re not listening when I politely ask you to stop.

They don’t make a husband spray the last time that I checked,
so I’ll guard my precious plants myself in an effort to protect.

I learned from the story in Come Out to the Garden and don’t want to turn you away,
but what if we work together in the kitchen instead to avoid foul play?”

~~~~

Come Out to the Garden is such a fun way to get kids interested in growing food, tending to the plants, and spending time with loved ones. I was raised taking care of tomato plants each summer in the Georgia heat. No fruit or veggie tasted better than ones I grew and picked myself!  The experience cultivated sweet memories of spending time with mom and dad. Each year, I continue to try my hand at a small garden. It’s not easy, but it’s enjoyable and as long as my husband isn’t picking my plants (bless his heart), the garden is worth the time and sweat. I encourage you to check out this book (available in paperback and hardcover through BQB and major book retailers and also in eBook) and plant seeds of responsibility, horticulture, and enjoyment of fresh healthy food in the next generation. Here’s a peek into this homegrown book written by Rick January and illustrated by his wife, Stella, to give you a taste:

