Today we are sharing a journal entry from Frampton Frog, a character brought to life in The Uppity Swans by Kathleen Bettilyon.Frampton for Blog post _1.10.13

I really don’t know what came over me today. I just couldn’t stand it any more. The creatures in our pond shouldn’t have to deal with this. I had to do something.

I mean, I usually recline on my lily pad just watching the Uppity Swans diss every creature that came by. But today was different. I hoped every time I saw those haughty swans make someone cry or feel bad, that would be the last time. I was so wrong. They kept making everyone feel bad. Today when they made fun of Fluff and Fuzz, I had it.

I recalled a terrible situation I endured when I was bullied by a toad.The Uppity Swans I took the time to breathe deeply, get my thoughts together, and pray for strength and courage before I spoke up. I wanted to do my best to speak in love and kindness. I thought, “If I can handle the issue well, everything will turn out better than if I shout and yell.”

Now, I am really glad that I handled it that way. I think that I made a big difference for the entire community at Joseph’s Pond today. The swans seemed to understand that they were hurting the other animals by saying unkind things. I heard them say they were sorry to Fluff and Fuzz. Maybe they will be kinder to the others. I sure would like that.

I’m thankful for the reflecting time near my favorite reflection pond, which just became a bit more peaceful.

Frampton Frog

The Uppity Swans coverTeach your children important and easy-to-understand lessons about respect and kindness by reading The Uppity Swans and the Turtle Brothers of Joseph’s Pond with them. This beautifully illustrated Christian children’s book is available now to order through our online store. It is also available in hardcover or eBook through Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and other book retailers.

