Tags

, , ,

Author Dawn Clark

Author Dawn Clark

The definition of freedom is “The power or right to act, speak, or thinks as one wants…the state of not being imprisoned or enslaved…absence of constraint.”

Wow!  How powerful.  I know that I take my freedom for granted, especially as a woman.  There have been so many situations in which women have been held back.

Take a woman’s right to vote.  I vote in every election.  I really do!  I feel that I can’t complain about a situation if I didn’t vote or speak my mind about it. I am proud to say that most of the women that I work with also vote.  I have often wondered what the women that led the women’s suffrage movement in the late 1800’s and early 1900’s would think if they could see the women of today wearing those little stickers that say, “I voted today”. Although it is sad to think how hard they had to fight for equality, women are stronger today because of it.  It is wonderful to live in America where we can change things by voting.

Jobs, or shall I say careers, are changing for the women of today as well.  When I was young and my school had colleges and career centers come speak to us, they only spoke about nursing and teaching to the girls.  I really feel we were limited. What about the military, law enforcement, marketing, sales, advertising, truck driving, and of course the presidency.  It is awesome to see my daughter who is 20 thrive in the marketing field.  She has met so many women that are managers and department heads – women of authority. In the past, those positions would have been filled by men.  Don’t get me wrong… When companies are interviewing, they absolutely should choose the strongest candidate for the job.  But it is wonderful to see that companies do see women as intelligent, hard working leaders that deserve the same opportunities as men.

Let me end with an excerpt from a poem by the great Maya Angelou…

“The caged bird sings with a fearful trill of things unknown but longed for still and his tune is heard on the distant hill for the caged bird sings of freedom.”

