Tags

,

Taylor Cupp

Taylor Cupp

Please welcome guest blogger Taylor Cupp.

Taylor has always been interested in baking. She started decorating cookies as a hobby and posted pictures of her beautifully decorated cookies online. Those pictures were discovered by more and more people and now Taylor is setting up her own business!

Here is her guest post:

There is always at least one or two recipes that just makes you think of your family or a certain holiday. The recipe that does that for me is my great grandma’s Chocolate Chip Cake. I’ve been making this cake with my grandma for as long as I remember for Thanksgiving and Christmas breakfast. Yes! Cake for breakfast! No wonder I remember is so well…

Chocolate Chip Cake by Taylor Cupp

Chocolate Chip Cake by Taylor Cupp

The recipe is fairly simple. A bunch of mixing, throw it in a tube/bundt pan and bake. The one thing that will get you is the 4oz bar of grated German Sweet Chocolate. Grating the chocolate will make it quickly melt in your hands, and it takes about 5 years. This is why my grandma always gave ME the task of getting the chocolate grated. The last time I made this cake a few weeks ago, I just took a knife and cut away at it bit by bit, and I got about the same size chocolate bits and grating it will get you.

The best part of this recipe, is I have a recipe card that has the ingredients hand written by my great grandma a few months before I was born (yes she dated it…and signed it!).

Chocolate Chip Cake
1 package Duncan Heines yellow cake mix
​1 package instant vanilla pudding (3.5 oz)
3/4 cup Crisco oil
4 eggs
1 cup milk
4oz bar German Sweet Chocolate (grated)
12 oz mini chocolate chips

Mix the first five ingredients and then add the grated chocolate and the mini chocolate chips. You DO want the mini chocolate chips, the bigger ones will sink and basically end up at the top of your cake.

Baked in a greased tube pan at 350 degrees for 45-55 minutes.

My great grandma also includes “good luck” at the bottom of the card. I love it.

Once the cake is out of the pan and cooled, time to add the best part – a chocolate glaze!

Melt one half 1oz square of unsweetened chocolate with 1 tablespoon butter and 2 tablespoons of milk. Add 3/4 cup confectioners sugar and beat it really hard…then dribble over the cake. The best part is where it pools up in the middle of the cake…YUM.

I’ve always loved baking with my grandma, every time I visit we always found something to bake. That love has recently turned into a hobby/business! I’m in the process of starting up T. Cupp Cookies. Over the past year I’ve been trying to learn everything I can and improve my skills in the art of cookie decorating. Check out my Facebook page to see what I’ve been up to!
_____________________

You can also follow her cookie adventures on Twitter.

If you are now inspired to cook, check out these cook books by Tiffany Moen and this one by Dr. Amber French and chef Kari Morris.

