Tags

, ,

Well, I did it. I picked a horrible book for our book club. And no, I won’t mention the title because according to its reviews on Good Reads, MANY others loved it. I was very excited to read this book which took place on a Caribbean Island. It was a mystery with local flair and culture.

There were parts I loved. The beginning was filled with beautiful language describing a tender father/daughter relationship and descriptions of the water and the sea. But then the author took us on a tour of many minor characters’ lives. Yes, they all came intersecting back together eventually, but I was most invested in the father and daughter and the lives of the other characters were not intriguing to me.

Is this personal taste? Yes. 100% Yes. Reading books is completely subjective. What resonates and inspires one reader is exactly what bores another. And maybe there will be others in our Book Club who loved this one. It is possible. Our meeting is next Tuesday, so I’ll let you know!

If you’re in the position to be picking a book club book or a birthday book or a book for someone else for any other reason, here is a great list of recommendations to keep handy so you don’t make the same mistake I did…

Browse Memoirs and Biographies:

boxes2not16

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Browse Thrillers and Mysteries:

lighindarkwhispers-401x600

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Browse Humor:

pienerdythirty

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Browse Contemporary Fiction:

Family-Inheritance-Cover-405x600Ameera-Front-Cover-v.10-401x600

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Browse Self-Help Books:

He Said, She Said, I Saidpaintrollers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Browse Historical Fiction:

Busstrain

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


*** All books by BQB and WriteLife Publishing are available on Amazon, B&N or can be ordered by your favorite local bookstore. ***

