Tags

, ,

The power to read is a beautiful thing. With it, my favorite living room chair (the frumpy one with the elbow imprints on the arms) can become a time capsule, a Viking ship, a hammock in the Caribbean, a submarine or a flying car. I can travel without a passport and I can dine with royalty in my pajamas.

Last week, I discovered my 8 year old reading under the covers at 10:30 p.m. Way. Past. Bedtime. And although I had to feign sternness and put on my best parenting face, my heart was full of love for this kid who couldn’t wait to figure out how they would catch the bad guy in his library book.

Teachers make this all possible. From A is for Aardvark to diagramming sentences and discussing Shakespeare, they inspire us to learn, ask questions, solve problems and stand in line without punching our neighbors.

WritinginCommunityDo you have a favorite teacher? That one who encouraged you to fly on the wings of literacy? WriteLife Author Becky Breed (co-author of Writing for Community) has a beautiful blog about Mrs. Eddy, her third grade teacher who inspired her to dream and to write and never stop. You can read it here, and you might even be inclined to write your own teacher tribute after you read it!

Here are a few gorgeous picture books from BQB Publishing that are a great place to start if you have young readers you are trying to inspire. Click here to see even more picture books!

where   Bonnie the Honeybee

UglyBugBall_FINAL1-472x600

togetheragainMr. Blue Front Coverpink

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


** All books by BQB and WriteLife Publishing are available on Amazon, B&N or can be ordered from your favorite local bookstore. **

 

 

 

 

 

 

