Tags

, , , ,

girlmoonI am about finished reading, The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill. If you didn’t hear, this book recently received the 2017 Newbery Medal. It is the story of a witch (who is kind) and the tiny girl (who is sacrificed to save the villagers from the supposedly evil witch) she rescues and accidently feeds moonlight, instead of starlight, which as everyone knows, will gift the infant with magic, but many years before she can be properly trained to use her gift.

It is beautifully written with threads of magic running through the plot and the descriptions of the character’s lives. I have a big soft spot for middle grade books in my heart. When I was the age middle grade readers are supposed to be (8ish to 13ish) my family lived in small Alaskan villages where winters were dark, dark, dark. If I wasn’t reading, I was playing basketball. If I wasn’t playing basketball, I was reading. The books on the Newbery Winners list were some of the few that I had access to. Books like Island of the Blue Dolphin, The Westing Game, Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry, Bridge to Terabithia, The Witches of Blackbird Pond and Julie of the Wolves (of course) were ones that I read over and over again.

Here are a few middle grade books from BQB Publishing that will entertain and inspire imaginative adventures for your favorite young readers (or adults who still wish they were kids – ahem!):

Filly Girls Cover Firefly-Front-Cover-398x600 Rumblepants-Front-Cover1-e1346846882548-400x600 Caterwaul-Font-Cover-Only-6x9-400x600 9781939371591 littledogkoko

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


All books by BQB and WriteLife Publishing are available on Amazon, B&N, or can be ordered from your favorite local bookstore.

